Written by John Drummond

Gosford Race Club is proud to announce the winner of the Gosford Trainer’s Premiership for 2019-2020 as a tie between Greg McFarlane and Adam Duggan with 12 winners apiece.

It was an absorbing battle with the two Gosford trainers challenging for the Premiership throughout the whole year. McFarlane landed 12 winners to win his 2nd consecutive trainer’s title with his galloper Liberty Sun winning at Canterbury late last year. Adam Duggan’s 12 wins came at a very healthy strike-rate of 23%, including the promising Miss Fox, who has won three races from only 4 outings.

“I would like to congratulate both Adam and Greg for their achievement this season. Greg has been pretty consistent and is becoming more regular at the Metro tracks. Adam has hit a bit of a purple patch with a couple of really promising horses in ‘Sir Elton’ and ‘Miss Fox’. I wish them and all of the Gosford trainers well in 2020/21” Daniel Lacey CEO Gosford Race Club stated.

Luke Hilton closely finished behind with ten wins, including recent winning doubles at Moruya and Dubbo.

Angela Davies came second in terms of prize money with Provincial Championship winner ‘Through The Cracks’ who has spelled well and is now back in full work preparing for races in the Spring.

Kylie Gavenlock finished the season with 9 wins, including 1 in town when ‘Wild About Her’ saluted on the Kensington track in early May.

Tony Newing rounded out the top 5 with 8 wins for the season including another successful Grafton Carnival with ‘Gogh Fox’ picking up a win.

Kris Lees won the Gosford Trainers Premiership with 10 wins, Jason Collett won the Gosford Riders Premiership with 8 wins and Tom Sherry won the Gosford Apprentice Premiership with 7 wins.

The hard-working Gosford trainers are looking forward to battling out the riches of the new 2020-2021 season.

2019/20 Final Results

 MetroProvincial CountryTotalPrizemoney
Gregory Mcfarlane111012$407,310
Adam Duggan04812$214,860
Luke Hilton02810$220,375
Kylie Gavenlock1449$283,150
Tony Newing0088$182,375
John Cooper0156$90,175
Angela Davies2125$354,835
Grant Allard0415$267,190
Nick Mitchell0033$86,750
Natasha Hall-Antonio0112$63,935
Gil Slattery0101$56,700
Carmen Murnane0011$43,400
Neil Ward0101$23,870
Ken Parker0000$64,770
Tina Rogers0000$3,450
Albert Stapleford0000$1,010
Irene Cowell0000$0

Images – Bradley Photos